Registers 1812-1994; Annual General Meetings 1990-2007; Congregation and Vestry 1879-2005; Constitutions 1843-1916; Finance 1845-2007; Plans and Drawings 1888-1904; Church History 1928-2007; Publications and Printed Matter 1861-2007; Correspondence 1886-1968.
Records of St Andrew's Episcopal Church, Brechin
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
St Andrew's Episcopal Church in Brechin, Angus is part of the Brechin Diocese. After being driven from Brechin Cathedral in 1695, the Episcopalians established a meeting-house in the High Street. A chapel was built in 1743. The seats and books of the chapel were burned at the Market Cross in 1746 by Cumberland's soldiers; the chapel was later taken over by the Qualified congregation. The charge was vacant from 1749 and was overseen from Lochlee (Tarfside) from 1770-1786. St Andrews Church was built in 1809 and consecrated on 23 June 1811; this was replaced by present day St Andrews Church in 1888. The project of building a new church in 1888 was spearheaded by Reverend James Crabb, according to the wishes of the late Bishop of Brechin, Alexander Penrose Forbes. The new church building was designed by the architect Alexander Ross of the firm Ross and MacBeth of Inverness. Lochlee (Tarfside) has been linked to Brechin since 1953.
Records are arranged chronologically within series.
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.
Other Finding Aids
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
Fonds level description compiled by Gwendolyn Loomis, student volunteer from University of Glasgow, November 2008. Description updated by Karyn Williamson, March 2009.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.
Location of Originals
The material is original