The Oxford Fieldpaths Society was originally called the Oxford and District Footpaths, Bridlepaths and Commons Preservation Society until 1960. The society was founded in January 1926, and celebrated its Diamond Jubilee in 1986. The Oxford Fieldpaths Society aims to protect and preserve footpaths, bridleways and commons for the benefit of the public.
Most of these records were deposited in 1983 as accession 2146 and originally catalogued as ref: Misc/OFS. They were recatalogued in March 1995 with the new reference O152. Further records were deposited in 1998 as Acc 4324 and these were added to the new catalogue in July 2003 as O152/A1/8 and O152/C/2-3.