Randolph Cummings papers

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 206 Liddle Collection GO 02
  • Dates of Creation
  • Name of Creator
  • Language of Material
  • Physical Description
      1 file; manuscript, typescript, postcards, photographs, maps, and printed material

Scope and Content

2 letters from Hindhaughs relating to cigarettes and demobilization (May 1918, Dec. 1918); "Friesenpalast" winelist (n.d.); Typescript humorous essays "Skit", "The Lost Cord" and "Hints for Young Housewives" (n.d.); Leaflet relating to venereal disease (n.d.); Letter from Reid & Sons relating to a gold signet ring (Dec. 1917); Variety, theatre and cabaret programmes and notices (1915-1922, n.d.); Bound calendar (1919); Letter from his cousin, Lorna (25 Apr. 1919); Postcard book of Cologne (n.d.); Field Message Book with cover (Oct. 1919); ca. 60 postcards and photographs (Aug. 1917-Oct. 1922, n.d.); Illustrated church publication (n.d.); Miscellaneous army papers (Dec. 1919-Mar. 1923); 2 "Anatomical-Museum" catalogues (n.d.); Map of North German regions (n.d.); Map "The Great German Plot" (n.d.); Front page of The Daily Mirror with map of proposed new boundaries of Germany (8 May 1919); Supplement to the Illustrated Cologne Bulletin (n.d.); 5 German magazines (Feb. 1920, n.d.); Letter from G. Walker (8 Apr. ?); Letter to his mother and father (19 Feb. 1922); Tickets in binder (n.d.); German language publications (n.d.); 2 dance tickets (Aug. 1919, Apr. 1923); 2 duty order forms (Jan. 1922); 3 passes (Nov. 1919, Jan. 1921, May 1922); Typed transcript of an interview recorded with Peter Liddle (Feb. 1976).

Administrative / Biographical History

Randolph Cummings (b. 1895 in Newcastle-upon-Tyne), Private, later Corporal, 78th Labour Company, ASC (Army Service Corps), served on the Western Front from 1916 and in occupied Cologne from 1918 to 1923.

Access Information

Access is unrestricted


In English

Other Finding Aids

Alternative Form Available


Related Material

Tape 318: interview recorded with Peter Liddle in Feb. 1976. See also Museum Section: BE 25.