The AEU was formed in 1920 from the Amalgamated Society of Engineers (ASE) and nine other unions (the Steam Engine Makers' Society, the United Machine Workers' Association, the United Kingdom Society of Amalgamated Smiths and Strikers, the Amalgamated Association of Brass Founders, Turners, Fitters, Finishers and Coppersmiths, the North of England Brass Turners', Fitters', and Finishers' Society, the London United Metal Turners', Fitters' and Finishers' Society, the East of Scotland Brassfounders' Society, the Amalgamated Instrument Makers' Society, and the Amalgamated Society of General Toolmakers, Engineers and Machinists). The Amalgamated Society of Glass Works Engineers joined in 1944, the Amalgamated Society of Vehicle Builders, Carpenters and Mechanics in 1945, the Amalgamated Machine, Engine and Iron Grinders' and Glaziers' Society in 1956, the Leeds Spindle and Flyer Makers' Trade and Friendly Society in 1958, the United Operative Spindle and Flyer Makers' Trade and Friendly Society in 1962, and the Turners', Fitters' and Instrument Makers' Union (Scotland) in 1965. When the Amalgamated Union of Foundry Workers joined in 1967, the Union changed its name to the Amalgamated Union of Engineering and Foundry Workers (AEF). In April 1970 the AEF amalgamated with the Draughtsmen's and Allied Technicians' Association (DATA) and the Constructional Engineering Union to form the Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers (AUEW). It was organised into several sections: the Technical and Supervisory Section; the Constructional Section; the Foundry Section; and the Engineering Section. It absorbed the Amalgamated Springworkers and Allied Trades in 1976 and the British Roll Turners' Trade Society in 1983. The AUEW amalgamation was not successful, and in 1985 the Technical, Administrative and Supervisory Section (as it had been renamed) left the amalgamation. The Construction and Foundry Sections transferred their engagements to the Engineering Section and the Union was renamed the Amalgamated Union of Engineering Workers - Engineering, Foundry and Construction Section. It changed its name back to the Amalgamated Engineering Union in May 1986. On 1st May 1992, the AEU amalgamated with the Electrical, Electronic, Telecommunication and Plumbing Union (EETPU) to form the Amalgamated Engineering and Electrical Union (AEEU). On 1st January 2001, the AEEU merged with the Manufacturing, Science and Finance Union (MSF) to form Amicus.
Reference: J.B. Jeffreys, The Story of the Engineers (London, 1945; repr. 1970).
Reference: Arthur Marsh and Victoria Ryan, Historical Directory of Trade Unions (Aldershot, 1984).