Contains logs books from 1876 until 1998 including for Pencae V C school.
Records of Pendyffryn British School, Dwygyfylchi
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 2008 CE9
- Dates of Creation1876-1998
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description4 boxes
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The school opened as a British School, situated on Graiglwyd Road (east), with significant support from the Darbishire family who donated the land and much of the buildng material from Graiglwyd Quarry.
This school closed in 1930 when it was due to become Penmaenmawr Central School (designated in September 1929). However, following the sudden death of Col. Darbishire in late 1929 shortly before he was due to officially open the school, it was named the Charles Darbishire Central School as a mark of respect.
The Central School closed in 1961 when the pupils transferred to Aberconwy School in Conway. It then re-opened as Pencae Voluntary Controlled Primary, now Ysgol Pencae.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.