OXFORD HOUSE OF REFUGE

Scope and Content

The Oxford House of Refuge at 11 Floyd's Row was opened in 1875. It was a rescue home, taking in 'fallen' women and girls and, wherever possible, helping them to make a fresh start. The Refuge was originally only able to accommodate a limited number of residents. It was enlarged in 1889 and subsequently undertook more active rescue work with street patrols.

The House of Refuge was associated with the Church Penitentiary Association and Felicia Skene was one of its early lady visitors. The building, which was rented from Christ Church College, was demolished in 1938.

Subjects