Parish records of Askham Richard

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1579-1964; register of marriages, 1579-1837, 1842-1979; register of burials, 1579-1992; register of services, 1935-1976; records concerning benefice income, including glebe papers, 1897-1899, and map, 1897; charity records, including lease, 1602, and Hudson's Charity trustees' minutes of meetings, 1893-1976; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1826-1921, and briefs, 1660-1664; constables’ records, including accounts, 1826-1842; records of incumbents, including statistical returns, 1891-1902; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1827-1837; surveyors’ records, including accounts, 1827-1845; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1851-1878, 1955-1964.

Administrative / Biographical History

The parish of Askham Richard, which has sometimes been known as ‘Little Askham’ or 'West Askham', adjoins the parish of Askham Bryan. The 'Richard' in the name is believed to refer to Richard, 1st Earl of Cornwall (1209-1272).

The advowson of the parish church of St Mary was granted to William de Tykhill by Roger de Mowbray in the twelfth century. In 1329 a vicarage was ordained there and St Mary’s was appropriated to the Priory of Nun Monckton.

The benefice was augmented in 1768 and the church was largely rebuilt in the 1870s.

Today Askham Richard is part of the parish of Marston Moor and the united benefice of North Ainsty, both of which also include Long Marston, Bilbrough, Rufforth and Tockwith.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1968 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1979, 1984, 1987 and 1992.

Note

The parish of Askham Richard, which has sometimes been known as ‘Little Askham’ or 'West Askham', adjoins the parish of Askham Bryan. The 'Richard' in the name is believed to refer to Richard, 1st Earl of Cornwall (1209-1272).

The advowson of the parish church of St Mary was granted to William de Tykhill by Roger de Mowbray in the twelfth century. In 1329 a vicarage was ordained there and St Mary’s was appropriated to the Priory of Nun Monckton.

The benefice was augmented in 1768 and the church was largely rebuilt in the 1870s.

Today Askham Richard is part of the parish of Marston Moor and the united benefice of North Ainsty, both of which also include Long Marston, Bilbrough, Rufforth and Tockwith.



Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1992.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1579-1964, marriages, 1579-1979, and burials, 1579-1992, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 632, 1590, 881, 1751).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 09.12.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

For related material held by the Borthwick Institute, see the parish records of Askham Bryan which include a confirmation register, 1954-1976, covering both Askham Bryan and Askham Richard.

Bibliography

Yorkshire Parish Register Society, 'The registers of Askham Richard in the Ainsty of York, 1579-1812.' Transcribed and edited by Frederick William Slingsby (Leeds, 1908).

Additional Information

Published

GB 193