Longfields Association was founded in 1952 by a small group of parents who were concerned that there was no provision within the education system for their disabled children. This group of parents raised enough money to open a schoolroom for their children. This schoolroom was in the Grove, Uplands.
In 1955 after more fundraising, the building at Longfields was purchased to provide daytime support for disabled young people after they left school. The centre was officially opened in September 1955 by Mayor Percy Morris.
The Ladies Guild was set up in 1960 and organised various fundraising events for the Longfields Association.
In 1962 the Work Centre opened, followed by the Occupational Therapy Unit in 1967 and the Short-term Residential Care Unit in 1973. In 1976 children of school age were transferred to Morfydd House Special School.
Longfields later came under contract to the City and County of Swansea and a voluntary Executive Committee managed the Association. Service users, staff and carers were represented on the Executive committee.
Longfields closed its doors for the final time in 2009.