The contents of the collection divide into three sections, of which the first is the largest:
- 1. Parsonage-house files, known as Dv files. These chiefly relate to the quinquennial inspections of parsonage houses carried out bymembers of the architectural practice of Hayton, Lee & Braddock in their role as Durham diocesan surveyors. There is also a little material relating to the involvement of the practice in the rebuilding of some old parsonage houses and thebuilding of some new ones. Many files relate to houses which no longer serve as parsonage houses, over half of the old parsonage houses in the diocese having now been sold. The practice appears to have produced at least one file for every parish inthe diocese of Durham. The contents of the files include correspondence, specifications, reports, accounts, plans and a few drawings and photographs. Most drawings have been retained by the practice. The date range covered is ca.1931-1989.
- 2. Church files, known as Dch files. Members of the practice have also acted as Durham diocesan architects, carrying out quinquennial inspections of churches in the diocese of Durham. In 1991-1992, the practice was involved with over 100churches, although this number will gradually decline since it subsequently became diocesan policy to spread this work between various firms of architects. The practice has deposited the files relating to churches for which it is no longerresponsible. In addition to churches a few files deal with other ecclesiastical building works, relating for instance to chapels, church halls and churchyards and car parks. The contents of the files are similar to those of the parsonage-housefiles. Again drawings have generally been retained by the practice. The date range covered is ca.1934-1991.
- 3. Three folders of architectural plans and drawings Two of these concern Auckland Castle, Co. Durham, now the official residence of the Bishop of Durham, and associated buildings, 1938-1956 and 1952-1968, and the third contains drawings oftwo monuments in the church of Durham, St. Mary the Less, 1949, (monument to William Gregg, died 1710) and 1953 (monument to William Granville Maddison, 1879-1953).