- Corporate records, 1948–1956;
- Shareholding records, 1948–1972.
Records of Thistle Inns Ltd, licensed premises group, Edinburgh, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 TI
- Dates of Creation1948-1972
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.14 metres
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Thistle Inns Ltd , licensed premises group, Edinburgh, Scotland , was incorporated on 5 November 1944 as a company limited by shares with a share capital of GBP 5,000 divided into 5,000 shares of GBP 1 each. In 1949 , the company acquired "The Green Tree" in Edinburgh and the "Straiton Inn" in Straiton, Scotland . By 1950 the list of managed houses also included the "Bruce Hotel", Cowdenbeath, Scotland , the "Lord Darnley Tavern", Edinburgh , the "Salmon Hotel", Berwick, Scotland , and the "Thistle Inn", Edinburgh . By 1951 the number of managed houses had grown to 10 properties. The new additions were the "Queen's Hotel", Grangemouth, Scotland , the "Grand Restaurant", Edinburgh , the "Tweedside Hotel", Innerleithen, Scotland , and the "Crown Tavern", Broxburn, Scotland . The company changed its name to Holyrood Inns Ltd in 1966 . No more is known about the company's history to date.
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by Scottish & Newcastle plc.
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom.
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
No physical characteristics which affect the use of this material.
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the University Archivist.
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents.
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures.
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot–Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
Location of Originals
This material is original
No known publications using this material.
Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives,ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999 and National Council on Archives,Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names
Scotland is the location of all place names in the administrative/biographical history element, unless otherwise stated.
Collection catalogued by Natalie Milne, Archives Assistant (Hub), 21 November 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description by Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 22 March 2012. Catalogue edited by Wiebke Redlich, Archives Assistant (Hub), 24 April 2002.