Mumbles Lighthouse plans

Scope and Content

Mumbles Lighthouse plans

Administrative / Biographical History

The Mumbles lighthouse was constructed in 1794. It was commissioned and maintained by the Swansea Harbour Trust. In 1860 a fort was constructed on the southern side of the lighthouse. The original light was a coal burning brazier, which was later replaced by an oil powered lamp. In 1995 the lighthouse was converted to run on solar power. Trinity House took over responsibility for the lighthouse from the British Transport Docks Board in 1975.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy catalogue is available at West Glamorgan Archives.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Accruals

Accruals are possible.