Comprises internal school records and management records.
Records of Ysgol John Bright School, Llandudno
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 2008 CE19
- Dates of Creation1893-1999
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description29 boxes and 6 outsize vols
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The original 'John Bright' School, the John Bright County School, was opened in February 1896 on the site of the former Llandudno Collegiate School (now the Risboro Hotel) which had been in existence since 1887 and relocated to the Oxford Road site in 1907. Also known as the Llandudno County School, it later became the John Bright Grammar School. In 1969 the school was merged with Mostyn Secondary School of Trinity Avenue to form a comprehensive school. Initially the school was run across both sites, the "junior section" (years 1 and 2) based at Trinity Avenue and the remainder of the school based at Oxford Road. Eventually the whole school moved across to the Oxford Road site and the Trinity Avenue site now accommodates Ysgol Gynradd Tudno. The school was rebuilt in 2004 and moved to new premises at Maesdu Road.
Conditions Governing Access
This collection is open for research. Access to some documents may be restricted due to Data Protection legislation, Conwy Archives will advise where this is the case. For details and opening hours see http://www.conwy.gov.uk/en/Resident/Libraries-Museums-and-Archives/Archives/Archives.aspx.
The majority of records were transferred direct from school c.2004. Pupil attendance registers were destroyed where pupil admission registers for that school year had survived. Also destroyed was some emphemera and duplicate material.