Society records of the Methodist Church, York, Albany Street Methodist Chapel

Scope and Content

Register of baptisms, 1915-1972; register of marriages, 1930-1931; property papers, including abstract of title, 1932, copy of conveyance, 1933, correspondence concerning a new building to replace the war damaged chapel, 1944-1945, papers and correspondence relating to war damage claims, 1951-1954, specification, plan, press cuttings and papers relating to new building, 1952-1954, registration documents, 1950-1954, and promise of a grant for the enlargement of the church, 1963; application and consent for the closure of the chapel, 1972; bill of alterations to Dringhouses Chapel, 1835.

Administrative / Biographical History

A wooden mission chapel was erected by the Primitive Methodists in Albany Street, off Leeman Road, in 1884, but it was not until 1900 that a permanent chapel was built on an adjacent site.

Part of the new Victoria Bar Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion, formed in 1883, the new Albany Street Chapel could accommodate 250 people and included classrooms and schoolrooms that could be used as part of the chapel when needed.

Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist Churches in 1932, the Victoria Bar Circuit amalgamated with the city's Wesley Circuit and Albany Street Chapel became part of a new and enlarged York, Wesley Circuit of the Methodist Connexion.

The chapel was destroyed during the enemy bombing of York in 1942 and the congregation moved into first St Barnabas' Parish Room, and then into a temporary wooden building until the new Albany Chapel was completed in 1954. The new chapel was situated on Salisbury Road.

The chapel was closed in 1972.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute prior to 1999. A further addition was made to the archive in 1999.

Note

A wooden mission chapel was erected by the Primitive Methodists in Albany Street, off Leeman Road, in 1884, but it was not until 1900 that a permanent chapel was built on an adjacent site.

Part of the new Victoria Bar Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion, formed in 1883, the new Albany Street Chapel could accommodate 250 people and included classrooms and schoolrooms that could be used as part of the chapel when needed.

Following the unification of the Primitive, Wesleyan and United Methodist Churches in 1932, the Victoria Bar Circuit amalgamated with the city's Wesley Circuit and Albany Street Chapel became part of a new and enlarged York, Wesley Circuit of the Methodist Connexion.

The chapel was destroyed during the enemy bombing of York in 1942 and the congregation moved into first St Barnabas' Parish Room, and then into a temporary wooden building until the new Albany Chapel was completed in 1954. The new chapel was situated on Salisbury Road.

The chapel was closed in 1972.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1999.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 14.11.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Related Material

Circuit records for the York Victoria Bar Circuit of the Primitive Methodist Connexion and the York, Wesley Circuit of the Methodist Connexion are also deposited at the Borthwick Institute.

Additional Information

Published

GB193