Comprises the accounts ledger for Middleton Colliery for the working year beginning 27 December 1805 and ending 2 January 1807.
Account book for Middleton Colliery for the year 1806
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 206 MS 1697
- Dates of Creation1805-1807
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1 folio vol. (57 ff.); manuscript. Probably written in a single hand. Bound in leather with some blind tooling and faint traces of a title on the front cover which begins 'Middleton Colliery', but is illegible thereafter. There is green marbling on both inside covers and endpapers. The volume is damaged and the script rubbed and faint in parts of the text.
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Coal-working in the Middleton area of south Leeds dates back at least to 1202, when William Grammary, Lord of Middleton, was described as a coal owner. Simon Symeon of Pontefract's will, of 1401, mentions his 'cole pits' at Middleton, and in 1646, Sir Ferdinando Legh was the owner of a 'cole myne' there. In 1697 Anne, the Legh heiress, married Ralph Brandling, a Tyneside coal owner, and in 1717 it was recorded that Brandling owned 'a wrought colliery or coal mine with a water engine and smithy' at Middleton. Then, by an Act of Parliament dated 9 June 1758, his heir, the Rev. Charles Brandling, gained permission to lay down a wagon-way to facilitate the supply of coal to Leeds. This line was at first worked by horses, but later, in 1812, became the famous Middleton Colliery Railway on which for the first time steam locomotives were used with the patent rack system of John Blenkinsop, the colliery agent. During the early years of that century under Blenkinsop the colliery flourished and output from the mine in 1814 was in excess of 100,000 tons. However, from that time onwards, and particularly after Blenkinsop's early death in 1831, production gradually declined. The Brandling estates were sold in 1862 to Tetley and Co., who formed the Middleton Estate and Colliery Company. During the latter part of the century the colliery experienced a revival in its fortunes and continued to function during the first half of the twentieth century. It was nationalised in January 1947, and it was not until May 1968 that its last working pit, Middleton Broom Colliery, was finally closed.
Conditions Governing Access
Access is unrestricted.
The gift of Robert Galley on 4 May 2004.