Records of the Carmel English Baptist Church, Pontypridd: account book, containing income and expenditure, 1929-1969.
Carmel English Baptist Church, Pontypridd, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
By 1810, Carmel Chapel, the first Baptist chapel in Pontypridd, Glamorgan, was built, at the Mill Street end of Graigwen Hill. By 1861, the Carmel was too small for the congregation and Tabernacl Chapel was built; from 1867, the Carmel became an English-language chapel. Three chapels were built, on the same site, and the last was demolished in about 1970. The graveyard was the burial place of Evan James (1809-1875) and his son James James (1832-1902), who wrote the words and music of 'Hen Wlad Fy Nhadau', the Welsh national anthem. Evan James was re-interred in Ynysangharad Park, Pontypridd. The other burials were removed from the graveyard in Graigwen Road in 1979, and re-interred in Glyn Taff Crematorium, Pontypridd. Plas Carmel flats were built on the site.
Conditions Governing Access
Deposited by a private source, 2000.
Compiled by Hayden Burns for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: Glamorgan Record Office, Catalogue of records for the Carmel English Baptist Church, Pontypridd.
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Record Office conditions apply
All records which meet the collection policy of the Glamorgan Archives have been retained.
The surviving register was deposited by the brother of the last treasurer of the church.
Accruals are not expected.