Papers of Thomas Chambers Hine (1813-1899), architect of Nottingham,1647-1925

Scope and Content

The collection comprises:

  • Scrapbook containing autograph letters and facsimile letters of royalty and distinguished churchmen, architects, authors, scientists and others. These items are accompanied by photographs, cuttings from printed works, engravings of architectural features and buildings, and manuscript notes by T.C. Hine; the earliest item dates from 1647 (MS 575/1).
  • Scrapbook containing newspaper cuttings, correspondence and a few photographs, 1853-1899 (MS 575/2)
  • Detailed Drawings and Specification, Explanatory of the Design for a Labourer's Cottage by T.C. Hine, a printed work, 1848 (MS 575/3).
  • Loose posthumous items comprising two letters addressed to T.C. Hine's grandson, family history notes, and a photograph of St. Paul's church, Clumber, Nottinghamshire, 1924-1925 (MS 575/4).

As a keen autograph hunter, T.C. Hine collected letters which were signed by famous people andpasted them into a scrapbook (MS 575/1), often accompanied by relevant illustrations and manuscriptnotes. The volume also contains engravings cut from printed works of buildings that Hine perhapsadmired. In contrast, MS 575/2 is more personal, containing items relating to his family and his ownarchitectural projects.

Administrative / Biographical History

Thomas Chambers Hine was born in London in 1813, the eldest son of hosiery manufacturer JonathanHine. In 1834, Hine completed his architecture training in London and moved to Nottingham. In 1848,he won a national competition to design a pair of agricultural workers' cottages and published amonograph (MS 575/3) containing a specification and designs for them. Important commissions followedincluding the Nottingham Corn Exchange (1849-1850) in Thurland Street, a factory for Hine andMundella Ltd (1851) in Station Street, and the rebuilding of Ogston Hall, Derbyshire (1851-1864) andFlintham Hall, Nottinghamshire (1851-1857). Hine was as versatile as he was prolific and applied avariety of styles to the many houses, hospitals, schools, churches and railway stations that hedesigned in the East Midlands.

Hine's later projects included the rebuilding and renovation of the castle, shire hall, andcourts in Nottingham. He was in partnerships with William Patterson in the 1830s and 1840s, RobertEvans until 1867, and finally, his son George Thomas Hine. T.C. Hine was also an enthusiasticbuilding conservationist, lecturer on archaeology and architecture, and was elected a fellow of theSociety of Antiquaries in 1876. He died in Nottingham in 1899.


Items have been arranged chronologically.

Access Information

ACCESS: Accessible to all registered readers only byappointment. General access to some elements may be restricted pending conservation and fullcataloguing.

REPROGRAPHIC: Reprographic copies can be supplied for educational use and private study purposesonly, depending on access status and the condition of the documents.

Other Finding Aids

This description is the only finding aid available for the collection. Copyright in thedescription belongs to The University of Nottingham.

Conditions Governing Use

COPYRIGHT: Permission to make published use of any material from this collection must be soughtin advance in writing from the Keeper of the Department of Manuscripts and Special Collections(email TheDepartment will try to assist in identifying copyright owners but this can be difficult and theresponsibility for copyright clearance before publication ultimately rests with the person wishingto publish.


Custodial History

The collection was acquired by The University of Nottingham's Department of Manuscripts andSpecial Collections in April 1990.


Geographical Names