Barnes County Secondary Boys' School (formerly Barnes Central Boys' School)

Scope and Content

Administrative records of Barnes County Secondary Boys' School, and its predecessor school, Barnes Central Boys' School.

Administrative / Biographical History

A school for boys called Barnes Boys' Council School opened in Lonsdale Road, Barnes, in August 1909 for boys aged 7-13. The school closed in December 1920, and Local Studies does not hold any records for this school. Barnes Central Boys' School opened on the Lonsdale Road site in January 1921 for boys aged 11-14, and for boys aged up to 16 in February 1923. Barnes Central Girls' School (ref: S13) located to the Lonsdale Road site in 1931. The schools ceased to be selective central schools in 1945, and became Barnes County Secondary Boys' School and Barnes County Secondary Girls' School. Both schools closed in July 1969, and re-opened as a secondary mixed school known as Barnes County Secondary School (ref: S14) in September 1969.

Arrangement

Barnes Central Boys' School opened in January 1921 at Lonsdale Road, Barnes. Barnes Central School for Girls (ref: S13) moved to the same site in January 1931, but each school had its own staff and administration, and separate accommodation on the same site, so the records of the Boys' and Girls' Schools have been catalogued separately. When Barnes Central Boys' School ceased to be selective in 1945, and became known as Barnes County Secondary Boys' School, the administrative functions continued, with the records of Barnes Central Boys' School remaining in use. The records of Barnes County Secondary Boys' School and Barnes Central Boys' School have therefore been catalogued together. When the school closed in July 1967, all the administrative functions of the single sex boys' school ceased, so the new mixed school which opened in September 1967, Barnes County Secondary School, has been catalogued separately (ref: S14).



The Barnes County Secondary Boys' School Collection is arranged into 2 series records:

  • S12/1 Admissions registers, 1921-1969
  • S12/2 Log Books, 1931-1969

Conditions Governing Access

Some records within this collection are open for access and can be viewed at Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive. No appointment is necessary to view archival material.

The opening times and address for Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive can be found online at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies

Please note that some records within this collection are closed and not currently available for research. For further information, please contact Richmond upon Thames Local Studies Library and Archive through any of the contact methods listed at: http://www.richmond.gov.uk/localstudies

Other Finding Aids

A more detailed catalogue of this collection can be found online at https://richmond.spydus.co.uk/spydus.html

Related Material

The following are located at The National Archives: Department of Education and Science: Secondary Schools Digest Files, 1910-1968, ref: ED 162/3025 Ministry of Education: Public Elementary School Files, 1921-1932, ref: ED 21/40441 Board of Education and Successors: HM Inspectorate: Reports on Secondary Institutions, 1947-1956, ref: ED 109/9106/1 and 1963-1964 ref: ED 109/9508/4