Parish records of Warter

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1653-1730, 1813-1988; register of marriages, 1653-1730, 1754-1988; register of burials, 1653-1730, 1813-1937; register of banns, 1754-1988; register of confirmations, 1943-1950; register of services, 1878-1888, 1902-1909, 1920-1989; records concerning benefice income, including sequestration certificate, 1960; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1767-1780, 1814-1828, 1855-1955, briefs, 1681-1699, and fabric papers, 1862, 1952-1970; constables’ accounts, 1684-1754; records of incumbents, including agreement with Methodists about service times, 1867, dilapidations papers, 1957, 1973, parsonage house papers, 1967, and statistical returns, 1970; overseers’ records, including settlement papers, 1722-1825; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1867-1904, 1925-1950, 1983-1988, electoral roll, 1926-1947, 1969-1970, and magazines, 1888, 1892-1894; photographs of church, n.d.

Administrative / Biographical History

The existence of a church at Warter was recorded in Domesday in the twelfth century. It was granted by Geoffrey Fitz Paine to the new Augustinian Priory of Warter in 1132 and a vicarage was ordained there. The Priory was dedicated to St James and by the thirteenth century the church was already known as the ‘Church of St James of Warter.’

At the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century the priory and all its property was granted to the Earl of Rutland. By the end of the eighteenth century the patronage of the church was in the hands of the Pennington family, Barons Muncaster. In 1878 they sold the estate, and the patronage, to Charles Henry Wilson.

The living was augmented through Queen Anne’s Bounty in 1767 and by parliamentary grant in 1810, 1817, 1818 and 1832.

The medieval parish church was demolished in 1862 and replaced by the present parish church, which was built in 1862-1863 on the same site at the expense of Lord Muncaster of Warter Hall. The architects were W. G. Habershon & Pite of London.

Today the parish of Nunburnholme and Warter is part of the Pocklington Wold benefice, which also includes Great Givendale, Huggate, Millington and Pocklington.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1966 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1978, 1979, 1982, 1983, 1988, 1989, 2002 and 2011.

Note

The existence of a church at Warter was recorded in Domesday in the twelfth century. It was granted by Geoffrey Fitz Paine to the new Augustinian Priory of Warter in 1132 and a vicarage was ordained there. The Priory was dedicated to St James and by the thirteenth century the church was already known as the ‘Church of St James of Warter.’

At the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century the priory and all its property was granted to the Earl of Rutland. By the end of the eighteenth century the patronage of the church was in the hands of the Pennington family, Barons Muncaster. In 1878 they sold the estate, and the patronage, to Charles Henry Wilson.

The living was augmented through Queen Anne’s Bounty in 1767 and by parliamentary grant in 1810, 1817, 1818 and 1832.

The medieval parish church was demolished in 1862 and replaced by the present parish church, which was built in 1862-1863 on the same site at the expense of Lord Muncaster of Warter Hall. The architects were W. G. Habershon & Pite of London.

Today the parish of Nunburnholme and Warter is part of the Pocklington Wold benefice, which also includes Great Givendale, Huggate, Millington and Pocklington.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2011.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1653-1872 (1730-1812 missing), marriages, 1653-1885, burials, 1653-1885, and banns, 1814-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 804, 1763).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 21.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

Records of Warter civil parish, including constables' accounts, settlement certificates and other papers, are held by Hull History Centre (Reference: DDWA/6/72-83).

Additional Information

Published

GB 193