Account of moneys collected for the poor 1754-1786; managers' minutes 1753-1755; seat rent collections c.1752-1755; receipts and accounts 1753-1790.
Records of St Laurence's Church, Laurencekirk
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Episcopalians were driven from the parish church of Laurencekirk in 1693, after which they built a new meeting house at Redmyre. This was burned down in 1746 and from 1752 services were held at Mill of Haulkerton until a new meeting house was constructed at East Redmyre in 1760. A new chapel, dedicated to St. Laurence, was built in Laurencekirk in 1791, and absorbed the congregations of Redmyre and Luthermuir. The present church was opened in 1873. Laurenckirk now serves the congregations of Drumtochty and Fasque (since 1954) and Drumlithie (since 1985).
The material is awaiting arrangement.
Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.
The records were deposited by the diocese in the University Library in 1962.
These records originally formed part of Br MS 4.
Fonds level description compiled by Sarah Chubb, Archives Hub Project Archivist, February 2002.
Other Finding Aids
Alternative Form Available
No known copies.
Conditions Governing Use
Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.
The material is original.