Twenty nine portfolios of material collected by Dr. Humphreys containing notes, correspondence, society reports, newspaper cuttings, articles and papers, prints and photographs etc., relating to the history of north Wales and places in Gwynedd and Anglesey, in particular, including Llandudno, Creuddyn, Conwy, Llanrwst, Red Wharf Bay and Penrhosllugwy. Also includes material relating to castles in England and Wales, including those at Conwy, Degannwy and Caernarfon, the north Wales coastline, Puffin Island, monuments and churches in Wales, Maenan Abbey, Penmon Priory, and the formation of Anglesey Antiquarian Society etc.
G.A. Humphreys Papers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Dr G.A. Humphreys (d. 1948) of Ardwy Orme, Llandudno, north Wales, was an architect, surveyor and chief agent of the Mostyn estates. He had a great interest in local history and was one of the founder members of the Llandudno and District Field Club. He was chairman of the Council of the University of Wales, Bangor for many years until his death.
Conditions Governing Access
Open to all users
Description compiled by Anne Lenaghan, July 2002.
Other Finding Aids
Item level word-processed list is available at the Archives Department, University of Wales, Bangor. Reference numbers: General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts: 8248-8276
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.