The work of The Haven has been carried out at several sites and under different names.
The original site of The Haven at 2 Albert Road, Ramsgate opened in 1908 with accommodation for 20 girls. This site was acquired in order to provide extra space for The Salvation Army's London children's home The Nest and was initially used as a seaside holiday home. It was known as The Nest II, The Nest Ramsgate Branch and Ramsgate Children's Home.
During 1911-1912 the work was moved to a new site at West Cliff Road, Ramsgate.
During the first and second world war residents were temporarily evacuated to other sites.
In December 1945 the work was transferred to Willoughby House, 42 Crystal Palace Park Road, London. The work was known by this name until August 1948 when the name was changed to The Haven.
From 15 March 1968 The Haven also began accommodating boys.
In November 1977 residents were temporarily moved to St Margarets, London whilst the old site of The Haven was demolished and rebuilt. The new site was officially opened by the Duchess of Westminster 23 November 1982; it had accommodation for 30 children in three Units of 10.
The Haven closed in 2012.