Local history: Lanehead, Coniston, Monk Coniston

Scope and Content

Includes a letter from Thomas J. Taylor to Mr Bell, 1 May 1900, with extracts from his diary recounting encounters with John Ruskin in 1899. Manuscript notes on the boundaries of Coniston, written after 1788. Particulars, documents, correspondence and photographs relating to the sale of Mansion and Estate of Waterhead House and The Mansion and Estate of Borwick Lodge. Also documents relating to Monk Coniston (now a hotel for walkers), 1835-1913. A 1938 paper by Rhys Jenkins on the Society for the Mines Royal and the German colony in the Lake District.