J G Ballard: Works

Archive Unit
  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 58 Add MS 88938/3
  • Alternative Id.
      (ark) ark:/81055/vdc_100000000015.0x000307
  • Dates of Creation
  • Language of Material
  • Physical Description
      162 files

Scope and Content

Draft material for Ballard's novels, and autobiographical works, excepting The Wind from Nowhere (1961) and The Unlimited Dream Company (1979). For some publications, this includes supplementary material in the form of synopses and other working notes.

In addition: a cutting of Ballard's first story ('The Violent Noon', 1951); four text collages (usually referred to as 'Project for a New Novel' [c 1958]); material relating to A User's Guide to the Millennium (1996); and various working notes (c 2007-2008) for uncompleted writing projects.

Conditions Governing Access


Not Public Record(s)