Scotch Baptists Ramoth Registers

Scope and Content

Birth register of the Scotch Baptist Church at Ramoth and elsewhere in Merioneth, 1786-1837, mostly in the script of J. R. Jones. It contains detailed information regarding the family of the persons registered.

Register of Deaths, 1791-1793, 1853-1854.

Questions and Answers : Society Book.

Register of contributions made by the church to necessary causes.

Administrative / Biographical History

John Richard Jones, 1765-1822, was a Baptist minister at Ramoth, Llanfrothen in Merioneth. Initially, he was aided in his work by Christmas Evans, but in a meeting in 1798 he left the Baptists to form his own Church of Scotch Baptists, which had 350 members in 1807. Today, in Harlech, Ffestiniog, Glyn Ceiriog and Rhosllannerchrugog, the denomination lives on.

These registers seem to reveal that the Scotch Baptists were established some years before the split in 1798 and the parishes named show the wide extent of the church.

For further administrative information regarding the Scotch Baptists of Merioneth consult, Bywgraffiad J. R. Jones o Ramoth by David Davies (1911) and Cofiant J.R. Jones, Ramoth by David Williams (1913).


Incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users.

Acquisition Information

On the death of Mrs Evans of Hendre Gwenllian in 1941, the documents were presented to the University of Wales Bangor by her daughter, Mrs Gwen Roberts of Bontnewydd.


Description compiled by Elen Wyn Hughes, August 2003.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript catalogue is available at the Archives Department of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 4165-4167

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the Archivist.

Custodial History

For several years these documents were in the care of the Hendre Gwenllian family of Llanfrothen, Merioneth.

Related Material

See also Scotch Baptists, Ramoth Manuscripts held at the Archives Department, University of Wales Bangor.