Contract drawings by Sir George Gilbert Scott (1868-1870). Plans showing proposed Senior Common Room extension by John Keppie & Henderson & J L Gleave (1949).
Architectural drawings of Principal's Lodge, 12 - 13 Professors' Square, University Avenue
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Completed in 1870, the Principal's House formed part of the University buildings designed by Sir George Gilbert Scott along with the Main Building and the Professors' Square.The reverse of one drawing states that one of the two dwellings, (13 Professors' Square), was intended for the Professor of Divinity. In 1988, 12 and 13 Professors' Square were renovated to provide larger accommodation for entertainment and receptions.
Physical Characteristics and/or Technical Requirements
All the drawings are in reasonable condition and are of varying size, but those drawn on linen-backed card tend to be more fragile than the others.