Architectural drawings of 1G Gilmorehill, University of Glasgow, Engineering Block, James Watt north Building

Scope and Content

Plans, sections, elevations and details by J J Burnet, including drawings showing later extensions by Burnet in 1908 and 1920. This series also includes plans that show the surgical building extension to the Thomson building (see series BUL 6/7) .

Administrative / Biographical History

The engineering extension to the north east of the Main building was completed in 1901. It was paid for by funds raised from the local industry by the Professor of Civil Engineering, Archibald Barr. Around the time that JJ Burnet began to draw his first designs for this extension, he travelled to the United States (1896) to gain information about laboratory designs. The Engineering laboratories were extended by Burnet in 1908 and again in 1920.


Drawings have been arranged chronologically.