University building plans

  • This material is held at
  • Reference
      GB 248 GUA BUL 6/1-6
  • Dates of Creation
      19th-20th century
  • Language of Material
  • Physical Description
      36.00 linear metres

Scope and Content

Item descriptions for:

  • Gilmorehill, University of Glasgow, Main Building/ Gilbert Scott Building
  • Architectural drawings of Principal's Lodge, 12 - 13 Professors' Square, University Avenue
  • Architectural drawings of 1-11 Professors' Square, University Avenue
  • Architectural drawings of the Great Hall or Bute Hall
  • Architectural drawings of 1 and 1C Gilmorehill, University of Glasgow, West Wing and Memorial Chapel
  • Architectural drawings of 1G Gilmorehill, University of Glasgow, Engineering Block, James Watt north Building

Administrative / Biographical History

This is a group of records of unknown provenance relating to the buildings of the University of Glasgow. Since its foundation in 1451, the University has been renowed for its architecture. Construction of the Gilbert Scott building began in 1865 before the eventual move from High Steet to the Gillmorehill site on the 1st August 1870. After the Second World War, Joseph Lea Gleave was responsible for the development of the Brutalist campus at Hillhead in the early 1960s.

Access Information


Conditions Governing Use

Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist

Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use and condition of documents

Additional Information

Description compiled in line with the following international standards: International Council on Archives, ISAD(G) Second Edition, September 1999and National Council on Archives, Rules for the construction of personal, place and corporate names

Scotland is the location of all place names in the administrative/biographical history element, unless otherwise stated.

Fonds level description compiled by George Gardiner.

Geographical Names