List of autograph signatures found in books in Cambridge University Library, 168 folios. The names are arranged in alphabetical order. Most of the entries are in the hand of C.E. Sayle, with some in that of F.J.H. Jenkinson. The entries were first made in 1894. Probably few if any entries were made after 1929 and the book is not now in use.
Cambridge University Library: Index to Signatures
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The first home of the University Library was at the buildings now known as the 'Old Schools', developed during the fifteenth century. In its early years the Library was under the superintendence of the University Chaplain; the first Librarian was appointed in 1577 and the first regulations for the Library's administration were drawn up five years later. Until the bequest of Tobias Rustat in 1666 the Library had no income for purchasing books, relying instead on gifts and bequests. The Library was granted the right to claim a copy of every work published in the United Kingdomby the Licensing Acts of 1662-1679 and 1685-1695, and by the Copyright Act of 1709 and successive Acts, although this privilege was not fully exploited until the nineteenth century. The Library moved to the present building, designed by Sir Giles Gilbert Scott, in 1934.
Conditions Governing Access
Open for consultation by holders of a Reader's Ticket valid for the Manuscripts Reading Room.
Written in the Library.
Description compiled by Robert Steiner, Department of Manuscripts and University Archives.
Other Finding Aids
Additional Manuscripts Catalogue.