Mortgages, wills and settlements, 1801-1914; leases and agreements, including large numbers of building leases for houses in Clydach, 1861-1928; estate papers including rentals and sale catalogues, [c. 1860]-1966; and estate maps, Ordnance Survey maps of the estate, plans of railways and roads, 1862-1939
Ynyspenllwch Estate Papers
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Ynyspenllwch Estate was a compact estate situated in the parish of Llangyfelach, Glamorgan, bounded by the River Clydach to the west and the Tawe to the south, with Gellionen Mountain and Craig Trebanos at the north and east. Trebanos and much of the present town of Clydach are built on the estate lands. The Ynyspenllwch estate was originally a part of the Gnoll Estate, the property of the Mackworth family. The Miers family moved to Wales in the 18th century, settling at Vernon House in the 1760s, and later acquiring the Cadoxton Lodge Estate. The executors of the will of John Miers the younger bought the Ynyspenllwch estate from the widow of Sir Robert Mackworth of Gnoll, Molly Ann Mackworth, formerly Miers. A new house was built to replace the small lodge which had previously stood on the site. The house later became St Joseph's Convent, and is currently a hotel.
Arranged by record type
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Andrew Dulley of West Glamorgan Archive Service. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Schedule of Ynyspenllwch Estate papers
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at West Glamorgan Archive Service and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
Information not available
Accruals are not expected