Bethel chapel records, 1973-2000, including records relating to the centenary 1973; records relating to the effect of a road-widening project on Bethal graveyard, 1988-1989.
Bethel, Sterry Road, Gowerton, Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Bethel was a Calvinistic Methodist chapel in Sterry Road, Gowerton, Glamorgan, now Swansea. The cause began with a congregation meeting in a barn at Fferm Isaf, Waunarlwydd, Swansea. The chapel was built in 1873. One of the noteworthy members of the chapel was William Abraham ('Mabon') (1842-1922), the first president of the Federation of South Wales Coal Miners and MP for Rhondda, who was choirmaster at Bethel. The church was closed on 19 July 2000 due to the state of the building.
Arranged into the following: Newspapers and cuttings relating to church centenary, 1973; Papers relating to the effect of a road widening project on Bethal Graveyard, 1985-1991; Closure of Bethal Chapel; Moriah Chapel, Treboeth.
Conditions Governing Access
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following source was used to compile this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Nonconformist, Calvinistic Methodist, Bethel, Sterry Road, Gowerton, catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are possible