Subscription List for Brydson's Order of the Peerage

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Two letters dated June and July 1787, containing the signatures of those who promised to subscribe to the proposed publication of the Order of the Peerage by Thomas Brydson. There are 151 autograph signatures, including those of David Dalrymple, William Robertson, Adam Smith, Robert Burns, and many members of the Scottish nobility, scholars and professional men.

Administrative / Biographical History

Conditions Governing Access

The manuscript is available for consultation by any accredited reader.

Acquisition Information

Purchased by Mrs Enriqueta Rylands, on behalf of the John Rylands Library, in 1901 from James Ludovic Lindsay, 26th Earl of Crawford.


Description compiled by Henry Sullivan, project archivist, and Elizabeth Gow.

Custodial History

Formerly part of the Bibliotheca Lindesiana, the Library of the Earls of Crawford and Balcarres, from Haigh Hall, Wigan, Lancashire.