Parish records of Slingsby

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1687-1728, 1736-2012; register of marriages, 1687-1728, 1736-1971; register of burials, 1687-1728, 1736-2012; register of banns, 1820-1860, 1885-1977; register of services, 1953-1961, 1963-2003; churchwardens’ records, including fabric papers, 1867, 1884-1885, 1949, 1966; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including magazines, 1935-1949, and minutes of meetings, 1937-1955, 1960-2003.

Administrative / Biographical History

There was a church at Slingsby from at least the mid-twelfth century when it was granted to the Abbey of Whitby by Robert Chambord and William Hai. The Abbey held the church until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time it passed to the Crown and was later granted by them to the Dukes of Newcastle and then to the Earls of Carlisle, owners of the Slingsby estate and lords of the manor.

The parish church, which was dedicated to All Saints, was extended, and a tower added, in the fifteenth century. Despite a complete rebuilding of the chancel in the early nineteenth century the church was in such a poor state by the 1860s that it was demolished completely and a new church was built on the site between 1867 and 1869, although it retained features and materials from the original building. The new church was designed by Robert James Johnson of Newcastle and built at the expense of Admiral Edward Howard, later Baron Lanerton, brother of the Earl of Carlisle. The roof was later replaced in 1965. It is notable for the tomb of Thomas Snowball, designed by Robert Thompson, the 'Mouseman of Kilburn.'

A church organ was added in 1870 and enlarged with a pedal organ in 1924. It was repaired and re-voiced in 1989. The church is affiliated to the Royal School of Choir Music.

Today the parish is part of the benefice of Street Parishes, which also includes Amotherby, Appleton le Street. Barton le Street, Coneysthorpe, Hovingham, and Scackleton.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1978 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1979, 1994 and 2012.

Note

There was a church at Slingsby from at least the mid-twelfth century when it was granted to the Abbey of Whitby by Robert Chambord and William Hai. The Abbey held the church until the Dissolution of the Monasteries in the sixteenth century, at which time it passed to the Crown and was later granted by them to the Dukes of Newcastle and then to the Earls of Carlisle, owners of the Slingsby estate and lords of the manor.

The parish church, which was dedicated to All Saints, was extended, and a tower added, in the fifteenth century. Despite a complete rebuilding of the chancel in the early nineteenth century the church was in such a poor state by the 1860s that it was demolished completely and a new church was built on the site between 1867 and 1869, although it retained features and materials from the original building. The new church was designed by Robert James Johnson of Newcastle and built at the expense of Admiral Edward Howard, later Baron Lanerton, brother of the Earl of Carlisle. The roof was later replaced in 1965. It is notable for the tomb of Thomas Snowball, designed by Robert Thompson, the 'Mouseman of Kilburn.'

A church organ was added in 1870 and enlarged with a pedal organ in 1924. It was repaired and re-voiced in 1989. The church is affiliated to the Royal School of Choir Music.

Today the parish is part of the benefice of Street Parishes, which also includes Amotherby, Appleton le Street. Barton le Street, Coneysthorpe, Hovingham, and Scackleton.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 1994.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1667-1857, marriages, 1667-1885, burials, 1667-1885, and banns, 1820-1900, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (References: MF 784, 1763).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 02.03.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Related Material

For weekly news-sheets for Hovingham and Slingsby, 1978-1988, see the parish records of Hovingham.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193