Pooley Hall estate correspondence, 1847-1910; Pooley Hall Colliery correspondence, 1832-1920; accounts of Pooley Hall estate and colliery, 1874-1902; and miscellaneous papers relating to Pooley Hall estate and colliery, 1875-1927.
Pooley Hall, Warwickshire, Estate Papers
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 219 XD/32B
- Dates of Creation1832-1927
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description0.04 cubic metres (3 boxes)
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The manor of Pooley Hall, Warwickshire, was brought into the Wynne family by the Hon. Charles Finch who married Jane Wynne of Voelas in 1778. He had inherited Pooley from his godfather, Charles Jennens of Gopsall Hall, Leicestershire in 1773. In 1847 the sinking of Pooley colliery began and was completed in 1849, the drawing of coal beginning in 1850. The mine was situated 400 yards from Polesworth station on the LNWR line from London to Crewe, and also being close to the Coventry Canal which crossed the Pooley estate.
Arranged chronologically into: Pooley Hall estate correspondence; Pooley Hall Colliery correspondence; accounts of Pooley Hall estate and colliery; miscellaneous papers re Pooley Hall estate; and miscellaneous papers re Pooley Hall colliery.
Conditions Governing Access
Compiled by Mair James for the HMC/NLW Family and Estates project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: Caernarfon Record Office, Catalogue of Pooley Hall, Warwickshire, estate Papers.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Caernarfon Record Office, National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives. The catalogue is available online.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Caernarfon Record Office have been retained
Most of the archive had been arranged into bundles prior to their transfer to Caernarfon Record Office. Where possible, this arrangement has been retained.
Accruals are not expected