Hirael (C.M.) Chapel Records

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

The records of Hirael Chapel consist of minute books of various committee meetings, 1884-1960, the earliest of which includes the history of the Methodist cause in Hirael. In addition, there are collection books, 1852-1949 and accounts, 1907-1941. Amongst these there are accounts of repairs made to the chapel in 1901-1908 and 1921. There is a draft history of Hirael chapel by the Rev. William Phillips and a letter book belonging to the United Churches of Hirael and Caerhun Committee.

Administrative / Biographical History

There is some dispute as to the exact date of establishment of the Calvinist Methodist chapel situated in the area known as Hirael in the city of Bangor, Caernarfonshire. It is said that the first chapel in this area was built in 1843 for the sum of £300. Twenty six years later however, a more convenient location for the chapel was found and the new building was opened in 1870. A gallery was added some years later. The proper name of the chapel is stated to be Eneglaim.

Rev. William Phillips arrived in Bangor to serve as the Minister of Hirael Church as the second world war was breaking out. Born in Rhosllannerchrugog, Denbighshire in 1880 he worked as a miner until the age of 26. He then went into the Ministry and received a calling from the United States where he served at churches in Johnstown and Wales, Wisconsin. He returned to Wales in 1915 and married Elizabeth Jane Jones of Liverpool in the following year. He retired in 1945 but remained prolific, competing in Eisteddfod competitions, contributing to the journal, Y Goleuad and receiving an M.A. in 1947. He died in 1969.

Arrangement

The papers were received at different occasions and have, as a result, been catalogued separately. They have been incorporated into the General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts. The main deposit has been arranged according to record type and then chronologically.

Conditions Governing Access

Open to all users

Acquisition Information

The source of acquisition of all records is not known. The Rev. William Phillips and Mr J. Rees Roberts of Bangor are recorded as having deposited a few items.

Note

Description complied by Elen Wyn Hughes, July 2001

Other Finding Aids

An item level list is available at the Department of Manuscripts of the University of Wales Bangor. Reference numbers : General Collection of Bangor Manuscripts 7037, 10235-10239, 11601, 12196-12197, 13924, 16526, 16528, 21095-21106.

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright conditions apply. Reprographics are made at the discretion of the archivist.

Geographical Names