Deeds and papers, 1774-1950, mainly relating to the Old Shire Hall, Dolgellau, including deeds, 1774-1909; and correspondence, 1948-1950.
Old Shire Hall, Dolgellau, Records
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 220 Z/M/65
- Dates of Creation1774-1950
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description(15 items)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Y Sosban, the Old Shire Hall, Dolgellau, Merionethshire, was built in 1606, and included the local house of correction. In 1827, it was sold, following the construction of a new County Hall and Courthouse two years previously. The Old Shire Hall was owned by Sir Robert Williams Vaughan, 3rd Baronet, of Nannau, until his death in 1859. By 1909, the building was used as offices by David Oswald Davies, Solicitor. F rom 1909, the neighbouring premises housed Shop Goch until at least 1950.
Conditions Governing Access
Compiled by Richard Burman for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Archifdy Meirionnydd Archives, Miscellaneous Collection (Dolgellau) (Z/M/65), catalogue; www.dolgellau.com homepage (http://www.dolgellau.net/index2.html), viewed 30 November 2004.
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available in Meirionnydd Archives and the National Library of Wales and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at Meirionnydd Archives have been retained.
Accruals are not expected