Parish Library of Holy Trinity Church, Hull

Scope and Content

This account book records the ongoing purchase of books for the parish library during the period 1798 to 1860. Purchases during this period included works by Basil, Justinus, Strabo, Photius and Salmasius, as noted in the survey of The parochial church libraries of the Church of England (1959)

Administrative / Biographical History

Holy Trinity Church Hull, established in about 1285, is one of the largest parish churches in England. It features early use of brick (14th century) and is located in the Market Place. There are many memorials within the church, ranging from tombs and effigies to floor slabs and wall-tablets, which date from the fourteenth century right up to the late twentieth century. The parish library had been founded by 1665 and attracted donations from many notable figures, from Hull and further afield.

Access Information

Access will be granted to any accredited reader

Custodial History

Deposited by the vicar, Holy Trinity Church, Hull, 19 Oct 1938

Related Material

Holy Trinity Parish Library, c1519-1874 [Ref U HTL] contains some 516 theological and historical works, with a high proportion of early printed books dating from pre 1640

Prints of ms. catalogue of the library of Holy Trinity, Hull [Ref U DX51/1]

'Memorials: Holy Trinity Parish Church, Kingston upon Hull' compiled by the Church Recorders of the Hull and East Riding Antiques and Fine Arts Society [Ref U DX200]

Hull Grammar School Library [Ref U HGS]

St Mary Lowgate Parish Library [Ref U SML]