Parish records of Haxby

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1667-1985 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1812); register of marriages, 1667-1993; register of burials, 1667-1969 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1811); register of banns, 1823-1985; register of confirmations, 1906-1995; register of services, 1906-1996; records concerning benefice income, including map of tithe free lands, 1817, glebe rentals, 1855-1856, 1858-1863, glebe grant, 1639, augmentation correspondence, 1856-1864, and papers, 1946-1958; charity records, including bequest details, 1891, and Hodgson's Charity, Edmondson's Charity and Thompson's Charity papers, 1892-1963; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1696-1850, 1857-1883, 1902-1924, fabric papers and accounts, 1877-1988, churchyard papers, 1911-1932, account book, 1924-1925, and property papers, 1909-1972; constables’ accounts, 1696-1850; records of incumbents, including parish memoranda, 1843-1884, mortgage, 1954, parsonage house papers and dilapidations papers, 1954-1977, and incumbents' and curates' papers 1932-1975; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1696-1850, and papers, 1842, 1923; records concerning parish rooms and societies, including church hall plan, 1957, and Haxby Church of England Men's Society minute book and papers, 1957-1971; school records, including conveyance, correspondence and plan regarding building, 1851-1852, agreement to let school house, 1876, tenders for alterations, 1935, school papers, 1851-1920, and Sunday School papers, 1929-1940; surveyors’ accounts, 1768-1850; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1857-1972, accounts and financial papers, 1863-1978, surrenders and admittances for the manor of Strensall, 1744-1909, survey of Haxby, 1771, 1811, 1857, correspondence and papers 1939-1972, and parish magazines, 1947-1958 (with some gaps); bible called ‘The Torville Bible’, n.d.

Administrative / Biographical History

Haxby was originally a chapelry in the parish of Strensall and was subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Prebend of Strensall until the nineteenth century. A burial ground was dedicated at Haxby in 1328, allowing parishioners to avoid the long and often difficult journey to St Mary’s Church, Strensall, but it was not until 1472 that residents petitioned successfully to have their own priest to celebrate at their own Chapel.

A church was built at Haxby in the sixteenth century, dedicated to St Mary. The living was constituted a separate vicarage in 1862 and the parish of Haxby was formed the following year. The vicarage house was built in 1864. St Mary’s Church was destroyed by fire in 1876 and rebuilt in 1878 by subscription. It was extended and rededicated in 1911 and a choir vestry was added in 1921. The church hall was built in 1851 and was used as a village school until 1876. It was later used as a social hall and a base for the parish Sunday School. The hall was extended in 1908 and refurbished in 2003.

Today the parish of St Mary, Haxby, forms part of the united benefice of Haxby and Wigginton.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1966 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1981, 1983, 1986, 1989, 1993, 1996 and 2000.

Note

Haxby was originally a chapelry in the parish of Strensall and was subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Prebend of Strensall until the nineteenth century. A burial ground was dedicated at Haxby in 1328, allowing parishioners to avoid the long and often difficult journey to St Mary’s Church, Strensall, but it was not until 1472 that residents petitioned successfully to have their own priest to celebrate at their own Chapel.

A church was built at Haxby in the sixteenth century, dedicated to St Mary. The living was constituted a separate vicarage in 1862 and the parish of Haxby was formed the following year. The vicarage house was built in 1864. St Mary’s Church was destroyed by fire in 1876 and rebuilt in 1878 by subscription. It was extended and rededicated in 1911 and a choir vestry was added in 1921. The church hall was built in 1851 and was used as a village school until 1876. It was later used as a social hall and a base for the parish Sunday School. The hall was extended in 1908 and refurbished in 2003.

Today the parish of St Mary, Haxby, forms part of the united benefice of Haxby and Wigginton.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2000.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1667-1865, marriages, 1667-1956, and burials, 1667-1894, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (Reference: MF 695).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 19.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193