- Memorandum and articles of association 1897-1961;
- Minutes of directors' meetings 1960-1969;
- Records relating to directors' meetings 1943-1965;
- Records relating to members' meetings 1959-1960;
- Directors' annual reports and accounts to shareholders 1947-1968;
- Shareholding records 1952-1969;
- Financial records 1959-1965;
- Trademarks 1935;
- Production records 1935;
- Salaries and wages records 1961-1962;
- Pensions and life assurance records 1948-1961;
- Licensed premises records 1961-1965;
- Property records 1875-1965;
- Public relations 1898-1982;
- Promotional material 1929-1980s;
- Family papers 1997;
- Photographs 1878-1994;
- Historical notes 1889.
Records of George Younger & Son Ltd, brewers, Alloa, Scotland
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 248 GY
- Dates of Creation1875-1994
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description1.15 metresThere are no physical characteristics that affect the use of this material
- Direct Link
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
George Younger (1722-88), a member of a family of saltpan owners in Culross, Fife, Scotland , was brewing in Alloa, Scotland from 1745. He established his first brewery, later known as Meadow Brewery, in Bank Street, Alloa , in about 1764. After his death the business was passed on from father to son, trading as George Younger & Son . Additional premises adjacent to the brewery were acquired in 1832 and 1850. The Candleriggs Brewery, Alloa, owned by Robert Meiklejohn & Co , was leased in 1852 and bought outright for GBP 1,500 in 1871. The Meadow Brewery ceased brewing in 1877 and was turned into offices for the business. Craigward Maltings, Alloa, were built in 1869 and a new bottling department was established at Kelliebank, Alloa , in 1889. The Candleriggs Brewery was badly damaged by fire in 1889 and rebuilt on a larger scale to cover nearly 2 acres, becoming the largest brewery in Scotland outside Edinburgh.
George Younger & Son Ltd was registered in February 1897 as a limited liability company to acquire the business at a purchase price of GBP 500,000. The company traded extensively to the North of England, West Indies , Australia and North America and from the 1880s to India , the Far East and South Africa . It took over R Fenwick & Co Ltd , Sunderland Brewery, Low Street, Sunderland, Tyne & Wear, England , and Robert Fenwick & Co, Chester Brewery, Chester-le-Street, Durham, England (closed 1934), in 1898. The first chilling and carbonating plant in Scotland was installed at Kelliebank Bottling Stores in 1903. The company's own bottling works was established there in 1908 and a new export bottling plant opened in 1912. The company built up large supply contracts with the armed forces at home and abroad and by 1914 had a lucrative regimental canteen business at Aldershot, Hampshire, England . It acquired the Craigward Cooperage of Charles Pearson & Co , Alloa; Geo White & Co , Newcastle upon Tyne, Tyne & Wear ; and the Bass Crest Brewery Co , Alloa, in 1919. During the same year the Kelliebank bottle manufacturing plant was floated as a separate company and eventually became known as the Scottish Central Glass Works . The Grange Brewery closed in 1941 and the Sunderland Brewery was rebuilt, being sold in 1922 to Flower & Sons Ltd , Stratford-upon-Avon, Warwickshire, England . The company took over Blair & Co (Alloa) Ltd , Townhead Brewery, Alloa, in 1959. It was acquired by Northern Breweries of Great Britain Ltd in April 1960 and became part of the combined Scottish interests of that company, Caledonian Breweries Ltd , later United Caledonian Breweries Ltd , which merged with J & R Tennent Ltd , Glasgow, Strathclyde , in 1966 to form Tennent Caledonian Breweries Ltd . The Candleriggs Brewery ceased to brew in December 1963.
The material is arranged according to the Scottish Brewing Archive classification scheme used within all SBA collections.
Conditions Governing Access
Tennent Caledonian Breweries Ltd, collectors and former employees
Other Finding Aids
File level list available in searchroom
Alternative Form Available
No known copies
Conditions Governing Use
Applications for permission to quote should be sent to the Archivist
Reproduction subject to usual conditions: educational use & condition of documents
This material has been appraised in line with standard GB 0248 procedures
The collection was previously stored with the rest of the Scottish Brewing Archive at Heriot-Watt University. It moved to the University of Glasgow in 1991. Custody of the Scottish Brewing Archive was transferred to Glasgow University Archive Services in 2008.
No known publications using this material
This material is original
Fonds level description compiled by Natalie Milne, Archive Assistant (Hub), 6 November 2001. Catalogue converted to Encoded Archival Description, 8 June 2005. Catalogue revised by Wiebke Redlich, Archive Assistant (Hub), 22 January 2002; Emma Yan, Assistant Archivist, 05 December 2008; and Michelle Kaye, Archives Assistant, 17 May 2012.