Minutes of the Gelligaer and Rhigos Rural District Council, 1898-1903; registers of mortgages, 1898-1921; provisional orders, 1898-1899; bye-laws, 1903; annual reports of the medical officer of health, 1901-1908; and ledgers, 1901-1903.
Gelligaer and Rhigos Rural District Council Records
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Gelligaer and Rhigos Rural District Council was established in 1894, under the terms of the Local Government Act 1894. It was formed from that part of the Merthyr Tydfil Rural Sanitary Authority within the county of Glamorgan, and oversaw the area covered by the civil and ecclesiastical parish of Gelligaer and the detached civil parish of Rhigos (part of Ystradyfodwg ecclesiastical parish). It held responsibility for housing; sanitation; public health and water supply.
Gelligaer and Rhigos Rural District Council was abolished by an order of the Local Government Board on September 11th, 1908. Gelligaer became an Urban District Council under the same order, and responsibility for the civil parish of Rhigos was transferred to Neath Rural District Council.
Arranged by type and date.
Conditions Governing Access
Items containing information on named individuals may be restricted in accordance with the Data Protection Act and Record Office policy.
The collection was deposited by Gelligaer Urban District Council on 18 June 1959, and 21 May 1968, and by Rhymney Valley District Council on 15 August 1983.
Compiled by Hayden Burns for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Glamorgan Record Office, Catalogue of records for the Gelligaer and Rhigos Rural District Council; Riden, Philip, Records Sources for Local History, (London, 1987); Saunders, E. John, The Gelligaer Story, (Cardiff, 1959).
Other Finding Aids
A detailed catalogue is available online.
Compiled by [INSERT NAME] for the Glamorgan Archives, with reference to [NAME ANY PUBLICATIONS USED].
Conditions Governing Use
Normal Glamorgan Record Office conditions apply.
All records have been retained.
Transferred to the Glamorgan Records Office by the Gelligaer Urban District Council and the Rhymney Valley District Council at various dates.
Accruals are not expected.