Records of Trinity Chapel, Swansea (Calvinistic Methodist), relating to Chapel History, 2003; annual reports, 1928-1994; order of service, 1955
Records relating to Eglwys y Trinity, Swansea (Sketty from 1955)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Eglwys y Trinity is a Calvinistic Methodist church situated in Sketty, Swansea. It has its roots in a split within Mynyddbach Chapel in 1799 which resulted in the building of a small chapel in the Greenhill area of Swansea, which was transferred into the ownership of the Calvinistic Methodists in 1802. This chapel was apparently called Trinity. A new, much larger chapel of the same name was built on what was to become Park Street and opened in 1829. At the time this was on the edge of the town, but as housing spread, it quickly became surrounded by houses and shops. During the Second World War the centre of Swansea was extensively bombed and on 22 Feb. 1941 the chapel was destroyed. A building committee was formed in 1951 with a view to rebuilding on a new site near to the schoolroom on Glanmor Park Road, Sketty. Building work commenced in 1953 and the new chapel, built by Messrs. Bennett Bros (Contractors) Ltd. of Swansea, was opened in 1955.
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Annette Strauch for the ANW project. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Trinity Chapel, Swansea (Calvinistic Methodist), catalogue.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records have been retained
Accruals are possible