University College London, Birkbeck Laboratory of Chemistry

Scope and Content

Printed folio from the minutes of Council, with an engraving of the laboratory describing the Birkbeck Testimonial, 1846. Entitled 'Birkbeck Testimonial' and signed by Charles Atkinson (Secretary), and Lord Brougham (President), describing the intention of putting Dr Birkbeck's testimonial money towards a Laboratory of Chemistry.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Birkbeck Laboratory of Chemistry was opened in 1846, and was demolished in 1968.

Access Information


Closed pending cataloguing.

Acquisition Information

Transferred from College Collection, 28 Apr 1989.