Walthamstow School of Art

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Records of the Walthamstow School of Art, 1902-1908, comprising:

Manuscript minutes of the Walthamstow Higher Education Committee, November 1902-July 1906; manuscript reports of the Headmaster of the School of Art, including press cuttings, lists of prize winners and notices of exhibitions, 1906-1908.

Administrative / Biographical History

A school of art was founded in 1883 by the Walthamstow Literary Institute in Trinity schoolroom, West Avenue, which was united to the Science and Art Department, South Kensington. In 1892 it moved to Grosvenor House, Hoe Street, then on to Court House, Hoe Street, in 1900. It was taken over by Walthamstow Higher Education Committee in 1906 but was closed in 1915.

Conditions Governing Access

Access is by appointment only, please contact the Archives Department, University of East London, for information. See: www.uel/lls/archives

Archivist's Note

Sources: 'A History of the County of Essex: Volume 6', Victoria County History, 1973.

Conditions Governing Use

Copies, subject to copyright and the condition of the original, may be supplied. Requests to publish original material should be submitted to the archivist.

Custodial History

It is unclear how the material came to be in the institutional collection of the University of East London. However the Art School appears to have shared premises with the Walthamstow Technical Institute which went on to become South West Essex Technical College, which later merged with other institutions to form North East London Polytechnic, later University of East London.

Before its move to the Docklands Campus, the uncatalogued and unsorted institutional archive was housed in UEL's Barking Campus and an external store. When the Barking Campus closed in 2006, the material which was held onsite was transferred, however the external store material was not and as a consequence is lost.