Harry Stammers Archive

Scope and Content

Drawings of stained glass windows designed and painted by Harry Stammers for churches, cathedrals, hospitals, guildhalls and other secular buildings in the UK and Korea, 1947-1967.

Administrative / Biographical History

Harry James Stammers was born in London in 1902. He began working for stained glass manufacturer Powell & Sons in 1918 at the age of 16, remaining with them until 1943 when he went to work for J. Wippell & Co of Exeter, a firm supplying church furnishings and stained glass. Two years later, he founded his own studio in Exeter.

In 1947 Eric Milner-White, then Dean of York, invited Stammers and his assistant Harry Harvey to move to the city and establish a new stained glass workshop, reviving the tradition of the York School of Glass Painting. Stammers accepted and his work at York re-established the city’s pre-eminence in British stained glass.

Examples of his work in York include windows for St Olave’s Church, the Chapel of the York College for Girls in Petergate, and St Martin le Grand church in Coney Street, the latter being part of a wholesale reconstruction of the church by architect George Pace.

Beyond York, Stammers’ work included windows for St Mary’s Church, Scarborough, St Mark’s Church, Sheffield, St Anselm’s Chapel in Canterbury Cathedral, St Michael’s College Chapel in Llandaff (built by George Pace) and the four ‘Airmen’s Memorial windows’ at Lincoln Cathedral. He also contributed stained glass to Seoul Cathedral in South Korea.

Harry Stammers retired in 1960 and moved to Bradwell, near Milton Keynes, where he died in 1969.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 2011.

Note

Harry James Stammers was born in London in 1902. He began working for stained glass manufacturer Powell & Sons in 1918 at the age of 16, remaining with them until 1943 when he went to work for J. Wippell & Co of Exeter, a firm supplying church furnishings and stained glass. Two years later, he founded his own studio in Exeter.

In 1947 Eric Milner-White, then Dean of York, invited Stammers and his assistant Harry Harvey to move to the city and establish a new stained glass workshop, reviving the tradition of the York School of Glass Painting. Stammers accepted and his work at York re-established the city’s pre-eminence in British stained glass.

Examples of his work in York include windows for St Olave’s Church, the Chapel of the York College for Girls in Petergate, and St Martin le Grand church in Coney Street, the latter being part of a wholesale reconstruction of the church by architect George Pace.

Beyond York, Stammers’ work included windows for St Mary’s Church, Scarborough, St Mark’s Church, Sheffield, St Anselm’s Chapel in Canterbury Cathedral, St Michael’s College Chapel in Llandaff (built by George Pace) and the four ‘Airmen’s Memorial windows’ at Lincoln Cathedral. He also contributed stained glass to Seoul Cathedral in South Korea.

Harry Stammers retired in 1960 and moved to Bradwell, near Milton Keynes, where he died in 1969.

Other Finding Aids

This material has not yet been catalogued.

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 04.11.15

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are not expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193