The history of the firm of J. and J.W. Leavers is poorly documented. The few records in thiscollection would appear to suggest that the firm ceased trading in 1850 under that name. It ispossible that it was a predecessor of the firm of John Wells Leavers of Spaniel Row, Nottinghamwhich is recorded under the heading 'lace manufacturers' in the 1855 Post Office Directory. The 1881Kelly's Directory records that the firm of John Wells Leavers, silk and cotton yarn merchant, wasoperating at 34 Hounds Gate, Nottingham at the time. By 1895, no such firm is recorded in theKelly's Directory although a private resident, John Wells Leavers, was living at The Hermitage,Hermitage Walk, The Park, Nottingham in that year.
No connection between this firm of Leavers and that of John Levers, lace machinery inventor andmanufacturer has been established.