Records of the Killan Colliery

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

D 83/1/1-2 Letter Books

D 83/2/1-10 Order Books

D 83/3 Sales Book

D 83/4/1/1-89 Correspondence Files

D 83/4/2/1-40 Miscellaneous Correspondence Files

D 83/5/1-3 Pay-sheets

D 83/6/1-3 Delivery Records

D 83/7/1-2 Goods Received Notices

D 83/8/1-6 Financial Documents

D 83/9/1-5 Schedules

D 83/10/1-5 Plans & Blueprints

Administrative / Biographical History

The Killan Colliery located in Dunvant near Swansea, Glamorgan, was established in the very early 1900s. It operated two coal seams in Penlan and Penclawdd, which were worked for both gas and house coals. By 1913 it was owned by the Killan Colliery Company Ltd. However, by 1917 ownership had passed to W. W. Holmes and Company Ltd. The colliery was closed in 1925.

Source: Ray Lawrence, "The Mines of the South Wales Coalfield", Vol. 2, (1997), p. 496.

Conditions Governing Access

No restrictions

Other Finding Aids

A hard copy is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service

Conditions Governing Use

Usual copyright regulations apply.

Appraisal Information

All records received by the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained

Accruals

Accruals are not expected.