Deeds, plans, leases, particulars and sale of Picton Castle Estate, 1848-1941.
Picton Castle Estate Papers
- For more information, email the repository
- Advice on accessing these materials
- Cite this description
- This material is held at
- ReferenceGB 213 D/RTP/PCE
- Dates of Creation1848-1941
- Name of Creator
- Language of MaterialEnglish
- Physical Description(4 boxes)
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
Picton Castle, Slebech, Pembrokeshire, was built in early 12th century by William de Picton, and his descendants still occupy the Castle today, carrying the name of Philipps since the 15th century. Richard Bulkeley Phillips Grant (1801-1857) assumed the surname Philipps and was created baron Milford of Picton Castle when his cousin, Sir Richard Philipps (d. 1823), the 7th baronet, died. The estate was later inherited by his half-brother, the Rev. James Henry Alexander Philipps (formerly Gwyther) (1814-1875). The estate passed to his son-in-law, Charles Edward Gregg Fisher (now Philipps) who was married to Mary Philippa. He was created a baronet in 1887. The Picton Castle Estate and baronetcy descended to his son Sir Henry Erasmus Edward Philipps (1871-1938) and then to his son Sir John Erasmus Gwynne Alexander Philipps (1915-1948).
Arranged into the following: deeds; leases; particulars and conditions of sale
Deposited by Messrs RTP Williams, Solicitors, Bridge Street, Haverfordwest.
Compiled by Seri Crawley for the ANW project. The following sources were used in the compilation of this description: Picton Castle Estate Papers; Nicholas, Thomas, Annals and Antiquities of the Counties and County Families of Wales, (London, 2000); The Dictionary of Welsh Biography down to 1940, (London, 1959); Philipps, Mary Margaret, The History of the Family of Philipps of Picton (London, 1906).
Other Finding Aids
Hard copies of the catalogue are available at Pembrokeshire Record Office and the National Register of Archives.
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records deposited at the Pembrokeshire Record Office have been retained.
The papers came into the possesion of Messrs RTP Williams, Solicitors, Bridge Street, Haverfordwest.
Accruals are not expected.