Land, cottage and mineral leases, 1728-1951, relating to lands south and east of Neath, Glamorgan, title deeds, marriage settlements, wills , mortgages, and records relating to Glyncorrwg church.
Whitworth Mineral Estate
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
The Whitworth family were Northampton gentry involved in the exploitation of the South Wales coalfield who acquired land in a number of parishes east and south of Neath, including Baglan, Eglwysilan, Glyncorrwg, Llangeinior, Llangynwyd, Llantwit-juxta-Neath and Michaelston-super-Avon. The Whitworth Mineral Estate Company was incorporated in 1890 to trade in coal, coke and minerals. In 1905, Whitworth Collieries Ltd was incorporated as colliery proprietor for the Whitworth estate.
Arranged into the following: Memorandum of association, leases (by parish and then by property), records relating to Glyncorrwg church, marriage settlements, wills, mortgages, shares, miscellaneous, printed items, notes on collieries
It is the policy of the West Glamorgan Archive Service to withhold the names of depositors.
Compiled by Andrew Dulley of West Glamorgan Archive Service. The following source was used in the compilation of this description: West Glamorgan Archive Service, Schedule of Whitworth Estate.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at West Glamorgan Archive Service
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
Information not available
Accruals are not expected