Records of Tarfside Episcopal Church, Lochlee

Archive Collection

Scope and Content

Minutes 1840-1914; collections book 1840-1914; seat rent collections 1858-1880; endowment fund contributions 1857-1874; building specification.

Administrative / Biographical History

The Episcopalians of Lochlee and Lethnot were driven out of their parish churches in 1716, after which they built new meeting houses on the Rowan and in Glen Lethnot. The Lethnot congregation died out by 1800 and the present church (St Drostan's) was built in 1879. There has been no resident clergyman since 1921 and Lochlee was served from Fasque (1921-1942), Montrose (1942-1946), Drumtochty (1946-1953 and Brechin (1953 to date). In 1983 the charge was renamed Tarfside.

Arrangement

The material is awaiting arrangement.

Conditions Governing Access

Open for consultation subject to preservation requirements. Access must also conform to the restrictions of the Data Protection Act and any other appropriate legislation.

Acquisition Information

The records were deposited by the diocese in the University Library in 1962.

Note

These records originally formed part of Br MS 4.

Fonds level description compiled by Sarah Chubb, Archives Hub Project Archivist, February 2002.

Other Finding Aids

Draft list

Alternative Form Available

No known copies.

Conditions Governing Use

Reproduction is available subject to preservation requirements. Charges are made for this service, and copyright and other restrictions may apply.

Accruals

None expected.

Additional Information

The material is original.

Geographical Names