Parish records of Millington

Scope and Content

Includes register of christenings, 1609-1994; register of marriages, 1609-1641, 1654-1683, 1692-1717, 1729, 1742-1747, 1754-1812, 1814-1838; register of burials, 1609-1648, 1653-1992 (note this register uses the Dade registration scheme for the years 1778-1812, ages only for 1787-1802); records concerning benefice income, including glebe house repair accounts, 1811-1818, glebe papers and maps, 1836, 1848, 1879, 1915, 1956, and papers, 1870, 1913, 1928-1935, 1939; charity records, including clothing club accounts, 1845-1849, and correspondence, 1863-1864; churchwardens’ records, including accounts, 1622-1861, briefs, 1714-1728, and fabric papers, 1684, 1914-1928, 1967-1986; constables’ accounts, 1618-1836, 1844; records of incumbents, including parsonage house and dilapidation papers, 20th century, statistical returns, 1906-1940, commonplace book containing enclosure award, 1772, and related details (tithes, pasture rules and charities), c.1894; overseers’ records, including accounts, 1662-1713, 1715-1773, 1775-1837, 1848-1882, rates, 1736-1848, 1877-1879, settlement certificates, 1766-1833, settlement examinations, 1785-1835, bastardy orders, 1782-1832, bastardy bonds, 1746-1779, bastardy warrants, 1781, 1833, miscellaneous papers and accounts, 1832-1870, and removal orders, 1793-1835; school records, including papers and plans, 19th-20th century; surveyors’ accounts, 1771-1831; Vestry/Parochial Church Council records, including minutes of meetings, 1811, 1828-1857, 1986-1989, accounts of Fridaythorpe enclosure commissioners, 1811-1818, magazine, 1888, sale catalogue of brewery and pubs in Millington, 1895, correspondence regarding springs in Millington Common Pasture, 1934, 1968-9, tracings of enclosure award maps (1772), c.1894.

Administrative / Biographical History

The present church of St Margaret’s at Millington dates to the twelfth century. In 1252 a vicarage was ordained jointly in the chapels of Givendale and Millington, and the united benefice remained subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean of York as Prebend of Givendale until the nineteenth century.

Parts of the church and the tower were rebuilt in the 1820s and the church was later restored in 1884. A reredos was given by Mr George Hudson of York in memory of his wife, the daughter of a vicar of the parish. In 2008 a new stained glass window was installed, designed by Thomas Denny.

Today the parish of Millington is part of the united benefice of Pocklington Wold, which also includes Great Givendale, Huggate, Nunburnholme and Pocklington.

Conditions Governing Access

Records are open to the public, subject to the overriding provisions of relevant legislation, including data protection laws. 24 hours' notice is required to access photographic material.

Acquisition Information

The archive was deposited at the Borthwick Institute in 1977 by the incumbent. Further additions were made to the archive in 1979, 1988, 1989, 1994, 2006 and 2012.

Note

The present church of St Margaret’s at Millington dates to the twelfth century. In 1252 a vicarage was ordained jointly in the chapels of Givendale and Millington, and the united benefice remained subject to the peculiar jurisdiction of the Dean of York as Prebend of Givendale until the nineteenth century.

Parts of the church and the tower were rebuilt in the 1820s and the church was later restored in 1884. A reredos was given by Mr George Hudson of York in memory of his wife, the daughter of a vicar of the parish. In 2008 a new stained glass window was installed, designed by Thomas Denny.

Today the parish of Millington is part of the united benefice of Pocklington Wold, which also includes Great Givendale, Huggate, Nunburnholme and Pocklington.

Other Finding Aids

A typescript finding aid, to file level, is available for consultation in the searchroom of the Borthwick Institute. This includes all material received up to and including 2006.

Alternative Form Available

Registers of christenings, 1609-1885, marriages, 1609-1885, and burials, 1609-1812, are also available on microfilm at the Borthwick Institute (Reference: MF 738).

Archivist's Note

Created by S. A. Shearn, 25.02.16.

Conditions Governing Use

A reprographics service is available to researchers subject to the access restrictions outlined above. Copying will not be undertaken if there is any risk of damage to the document. Copies are supplied in accordance with the Borthwick Institute for Archives' terms and conditions for the supply of copies, and under provisions of any relevant copyright legislation. Permission to reproduce images of documents in the custody of the Borthwick Institute must be sought.

Accruals

Further accruals are expected.

Additional Information

Published

GB 193