Correspondence and papers, 1910-1927; Archaeological and local history notes, n.d.; Newspaper cuttings, 1922
Col. W. Ll. Morgan Collection
Scope and Content
Administrative / Biographical History
In 1888 Lieut.-Colonel W. Ll. Morgan finally settled in Swansea and was elected a Vice-President of the Royal Institution of South Wales. For many years until his death he was the leading personality in the life of the Royal Institution. He was President sixteen times between 1890-1926, Honorary Curator of Coins and Seals, and an authority and writer on local history and antiquities. In 1919 the Welsh Kitchen was built by Colonel Morgan to house the old Welsh furniture and other objects which had for years been gradually accumulating from all parts of the country. Colonel Morgan died on the 27 July 1927. By his will he bequeathed to the Institution a large collection of Swansea and Nantgarw china and porcelain, the greater part of the contents of his library, a number of paintings and engravings, and two sums of money: Â£2000 of which Â£100 may be applied to extending the accommodation of the Museum or Library, and a further Â£500 which was to be invested and the income used to acquire any 'objects of interest'.
This catalogue lists the items chronologically under the headings stated in Scope and content.
Conditions Governing Access
The records were originally held at The Royal Institution of South Wales, Swansea. They were transferred to West Glamorgan Archive Service in the Spring of 2004 as part of The Royal Institution of South Wales Collection.
Compiled by Katie Millien for the West Glamorgan Archive Service.
Other Finding Aids
A hard copy of the catalogue is available at the West Glamorgan Archive Service. The catalogue can be accessed online. Detailed catalogue
Conditions Governing Use
Usual copyright regulations apply.
All records transferred to the West Glamorgan Archive Service have been retained.
Accruals are not expected.